Professio(a)nal

It is Friday, early morning, 6.30 am to be exact. Alarm wakes me up so I can call off sick, as I’m not feeling well. I wait few minutes to be fully awake and then I try to call. No one answers. I wait two minutes and phone again. Still nothing. It’s already 6.45am. But… third time lucky, they say. I call again. So called “Supervisor: J. picks up, in the background I can hear energetic African music – means she just came and still plays it on her phone. She’s always late.

I tell her all I have to say. Procedure is that she has to ask what is the reason for my absence, what is wrong with me.

I have a flu. I have been feeling unwell for the last few days and today is just too much… – I say. And it’s the truth.

Now she should inform me – even though I know that, but it is the procedure – that I should call before 2pm if I am coming on monday or no. As it was a weekend coming up, I could also call on Sunday. But instead “supervisor” J. says:

Yeah, whatever – and hangs up the phone.

Leave a Reply

