How much is the new spine?

I will give you three examples, three evidences for my thesis.

First.

I twisted my knee, it swell, but I still came to work. I thought I was doing them a favour. It is always one pair of hands more. It is always a trouble when someone goes of sick. Limping, I was slowly wiping tables. Can you do it faster?! – is what I heard instead of “Thank you”. That was long time ago. Now I call off sick it I have sore toe.

Second.

One of my colleagues, friend even, was sick for few months. Did anyone at work call her, asked how she was doing? She lives alone. Did anyone try to find out if she is all right, if she needs anything? There is some sort of special service for such situations – if a staff member is off sick for a long time, they can visit them at home just to find out how they doing, help out. It is especially useful for people living on their own. Unfortunately, no one was interested to find out. Luckily, Bev has a big family.

Third.

About two weeks ago, during lunch, at the peak, a woman collapsed on the floor in convulsions right in front of the hot counter. I didn’t see the exact moment as I was kneeling to get something out of the cupboard. I only heard a loud thump, only a body hitting the floor can make a thump that loud. She banged her head on the floor. I guess out of all places you can collapse at, hospital is the best one. Canteen was full of doctors and nurses, so she got help very fast, immediately. She was laying on the floor, convulsions ceased, medical staff around her, in the meantime someone has brought a stretcher. Did they tell us to stop serving – at least for five minutes – to help doctors do their job? Nope, they call a security lady who blocked the way, so people didn’t wander around where the lady was laying on the floor. This way, please – security female was directing people. After the poor woman was taken out, floor was washed and disinfected, we kept serving. I was a little bit shaken, I’ve never seen anything like this. A colleague working with me, who saw the whole situation, had to sit down to cool off. Maybe it was epilepsy, maybe a seizure, maybe a stroke. We are catering staff, we don’t know. Maybe she could die on that floor in front of us. Maybe stopping the service would be just nice, respectful, reasonable thing to do? If she died would the body be simply carried away, floor disinfected, service uninterrupted? Is it all about money?

At the end, comes my thesis:

They simply don’t give a damn about anything but money. We could also just die there, they would get the sweeper, swept us off and carry on. We are good as long as we are of any use. When we get sick, no one cares, we become a hindrance. Sick, maybe even dying customers? why would they care when facing money loss? Or maybe I am just being dramatic?

I write it inspired by yesterdays accident. Supervisor M., carrying some coffee cups was walking the corridor, along the doors to fridges and one freezer. She slipped, fell on her butt, hitting her tailbone. She wasn’t able to stand by herself, someone had to bring the office chair and sat her on it. Again, no better place to fall over then hospital. She was sent to A&E, where instead of getting some actual help, she got paracetamol and a bunch of leaflets about back injuries.

This is a subject for a separate story. In my country a patient in such situations would be examined, X-rayed, not like in UK just interviewed and sent home, after being given and information “If you start feeling any tingling in your legs, come back to us“.

After she was back from A&E – actually, she was pushed on a special armchair with wheels used by porters, she went home, one of her siblings came to pick her up. She wasn’t even able to get up to put her coat on.

Why did this accident happen? It happen because door to the freezer had been leaking. It has been leaking since months! They’ve tried to fix it without much result. Months! How much time do you need to fix the door? After so many months they could have order a new one! But then… You would have to care… Especially of how much money it would cost.

Leave a Reply

